Review: Community Program at Old Folks Home

It’s been awhile since the last time I updated my blog with some “emotional” stories that I had to go through. Yet, today’s post would possibly be one of the melancholy and saddest stories ever that I’ll write about. I don’t know, things associated with parents really make me sad, like a lot… The feeling of being far from your parents is the bad feeling ever that I could ever feel all these while, I hate to accept the fact that I still have another one and a half years to further my studies and living here all myself alone in Kuala Terengganu (though it’s still domestic). Do feel what I feel! *crying*

Moving on to the actual topic, is that of the community program at Rumah Sejahtera. This remarks as my very first time having a visit at the old folks home. My first impression was “sorrow”. My mind was working so hard in questioning plenty of questions. ‘What happened to their children?’, ‘Did they ever think about their parents living in here, whether they would be fine or not?’, ‘What others will think of them being such a bad son or daughter for not taking care of their own parents?’, and one big question mark for this one kind of question, ‘DO THEY STILL LOVE THEIR PARENTS?’. The answer is definitely no. Because if they really do, they will never let anyone to look after their parents, because their parents never did such when they were so young back then.

In all honesty, I didn’t know what to expect. It was hard to imagine the difference we could make in their lives, since we were just a bunch of strangers giving them a visit. But now I know not to underestimate a stranger’s capacity to impact another’s life, because the effects can be tenfold.

I would have never predicted how amazing the effects of my visit to the old folks home would be. After greeting the elderly and speaking to them one-on-one, I was amazed by how appreciative they were for my visit. Perhaps they felt lonely or abandoned before, but now tears of joy glistened in their eyes. Maybe all people need is to know they are cared for, even by a simple stranger.

Moreover, I was stunned by the optimism they had for their future, even at old age. They were so youthful in spirit, regardless of their frail bodies. They were selfless enough to tell me to take care of myself, even if they were the ones in wheelchairs. It taught me that happiness can exist, even at old age, regardless of discouraging circumstances or diminishing health. We kept the elderly company, we did makeover them, and prepared performances to keep them entertained (offering our time, treasures, and talent)

I learned that the rewards of volunteering is a two-way street. You’ll be surprised by how much you’ll get back, whether it’s a new outlook or a warm smile, when you give your time to help another.

So volunteer. It truly is a beauty.

CuzS3J9VYAAQZGC.jpg

P/s: Probably most of us will end our lives in an old folks home just like this one. The care is good, the staffs are lovely. And yet it’s hard not to be shocked by the reality of daily life here 😦

Appreciate and love both of your parents. Be grateful as if you still have them both alive.


F.R

 

Leave a Reply

